Lusaka Punk & Other Stories

Now entering its sixteenth year, the Caine Prize for African Writing is Africas leading literary prize, and is awarded to a short story by an African writer published in English, whether in Africa or elsewhere. This collection brings together eighteen short storiesthe five 2015 shortlisted stories, along with stories written at the 2015 Caine Prize Writers Workshop that took place in Ghana. The collection showcases young writers who go on to publish successful novels, for instance: Leila Aboulela, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Sefi Atta, Brian Chikwava and Helon Habila. The shortlisted writers include Segun Afolabi (Nigeria), Caine Prize winner in 2005; Elnathan John (Nigeria), who was shortlisted in 2013; F. T. Kola (South Africa); Masande Ntshanga (South Africa); and Namwali Serpell (Zambia), who was shortlisted in 2010. The 2015 Caine Prize workshop participants included Diane Awerbuck (South Africa) and Efemia Chela (Zambia/Ghana) who were shortlisted for the 2014 prize, Onipede Hollist (Sierra Leona) who was shortlisted in 2013, and nine other promising writers: Dalle Abraham (Kenya), Nkiacha Atemnkeng (Cameroon), Akwaeke Emezi (Nigeria), Timothy Kiprop Kimutai (Kenya), Jonathan Mbuna (Malawi), and Jonathan Dotse, Jemila Abdulai, Aisha Nelson and Nana Nyarko Boateng (Ghana). Chair of judges, Zo Wicomb described the shortlist as, an exciting crop of well-crafted stories.?.. Unforgettable characters, drawn with insight and humour, inhabit works ranging from classical story structures to a haunting, enigmatic narrative that challenges the conventions of the genre. She added, “Understatement and the unspoken prevail: hints of an orphans identity bring poignant understanding of his world; the reader is slowly and expertly guided to awareness of a narrators

Author: Caine Prize For African Writing



In stock

KES 1,590


Additional information